top of page

Assignment 3 - Insect Sculpture

Assignment 3 is to make an insect using recyclable materials which almost same size as A4 size. After thinking for a while I decided to make an Antlion, scientific name "Myrmeleontidae"

RESEARCH

 

SKETCHES

 

MEASUREMENT

 

After I have the measurement, I started to plan how to make my Antlion.

PLANNING

 

So, after all the preparation work is done, I move on to making the real insect!

Here is the

MATERIALS LIST

After I done preparing all the material that I needs ... Here's how I make it!

THE BODY PART

I use Family mart used spoon and straw as the main body structure and I fix it using Epoxy glue. For the upper body, I used 4 straw, I rolled it up and fix it on the head of KFC spoon with hot glue gun.

FACE

I used a small cut of straw as the head and cable tie as its antenna and eyes and fixed it with hot glue. And after that I attached its mouth, the mouth is made from Family Mart folk.

LEGS

I used metal wire to make the shape of leg and attached it using hot glue.

THE WINGS

For the wings, I first use the metal wire to make the shape of the wings structure first then I use a thin wire as it's design of the wings. after the Structure is fixed, I attached Plastic bottle pieces on the structure as I think that the surface texture of plastic bottle has the textile similar to the wings of Antlion and it have the transparency.

BEFORE APPLYING COLOUR

I used Acrylic of black colour and yellow colours for my insects.

 

FINAL OUTCOME

 

THOUGHTS

The only time that I will make research and looks at the insect in details haha even come out with a product! Anyway, I'm happy with the outcome! Nice experience!

THANKS!

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
SEARCH BY TAGS
FEATURED POSTS
INSTAGRAM
ARCHIVE

HUIyoooooooooo ARTsite

Not the best , but give the best that I can 

bottom of page