top of page

Assignment 1 - Layering Paper Sculpture

For 3D assignment 1, we need do to do a layering paper cut in a fixed size frame which is 30cm x 30cm. It was my first time doing paper sculpture layering, so I did some research in order to have an image and idea to know what I should do.

RESEARCH

The requirement is to make and design the layering art based on actual painting, story tales or even own theme.

So I started with drawing out 10 pieces of design/actual painting before making the paper sculpture.

Here is my 10 pieces of drawing. *Press in to see the description written beside

After finishing 10 piece of sketches, I had decided to do paper sculpture on Salvador Dali's Artwork "Madonna of Port Lligat"

 

I started by differentiating how many colour the painting have, in order to know how many layer to be done in paper sculpture.

After that I make a analysis of the colour layer needed.

On the left side, it's the background colour layer planning.

 

PLANNING OF LAYER

I made simple layer by layer sketches for planning.

 

After that I move on to the measurement of the paper sculpture.

This is the actual size draw and then I transfer the measurement using tracing paper.

 

After the all the preparation is done, I Finally move on to the actual paper sculpture making.

I start with making the bottom-most base background with light purple and pale yellow colour paper.

and the I cut out the watercolour paper of different size of background layer as planned.

I traced the structure that I had already done the measurement on the sketch book before this.

I label it and cut out based on the colour

and I place on the background layer to check it is ok.

I also trace and cut down the other small part of the paper sculpture

and tested before applying colour or fixed its position.

Checking all the measurement is right and all the paper sculpture before applying colour and stick on to the frame.

 

APPLYING COLOUR

All done colouring !

 

ATTACHING PARTS

Just simply attached part by part in order using foam tape and then fixed with super glue (elephant glue).

 

AND TADAAA!!

ALL IS DONE!

THE FINAL OUTCOME

From different angle *without frame on

 

MATERIALS LIST

 

THOUGHTS

I think it is fun and a great experience doing this assignment and the most important Im really satisfy with the outcome as I never expect myself doing paper sculpture!

And also I learnt that how to make an object to looks more outward/ inwards and also understand how perspective works.

Hope you like it, Thanks!

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
SEARCH BY TAGS
FEATURED POSTS
INSTAGRAM
ARCHIVE

HUIyoooooooooo ARTsite

Not the best , but give the best that I can 

bottom of page