top of page

Minimalist Black and  White Photography Exercise

Beside Assignment 1 , we also have an exercise to practice our photography skil. So our first exercise is to take 5 minimalist photography in black and white.

In my understanding, Minimalist is simple, not to showcase the real object but only parts of the object.

Camera used for this exercise: Canon 77D

1.

Location: Syops Mall, Taylor's University Lakeside Campus

This photo consist of 2/3 of the floor and 1/3 of the small drain. I choose this view because I like the floor pattern and I like how it looks like with a little tilted angel . For me this pic is quite simple with no real whole object in it.

ISO:100

Shutter Speed:1/250

F-stop:F2.8

2.

Location: Stairs beside Syops Mall , Taylor's University Lakeside Campus

I tried to find an angel of the staircase handle , and I found that this angel is quite ok , not too crossed yet not too simple . Just that the background are not that nice

ISO:100

Shutter Speed:1/100

F-stop:F2.5

3.

Location: Paya Terubong, Penang

I quite like the layer and heights of the condo, the sky is clear and no other obstacles blocking the views.

ISO:100

Shutter Speed:1/1000

F-stop:F2.5

4.

Location: Vegetarian restaurant nearby SMJK Heng Ee, Penang

I quite like this old time feeling of chopstick and also the sauce plate.So I decided to take a photo of it and try to make it as minimalist as possible.

ISO:800

Shutter Speed:1/80

F-stop:F2.5

5.

Location: General Hospital Pulau Penang Block B

The line of the wall and the wire plug make me feel its quite simple.

ISO:800

Shutter Speed:1/600

F-stop:F2.8

6.

Location: United Hokkien Centimetres Paya Terubong, Penang

Just accidentally saw this street light alone behind with a clear sky background

ISO:100

Shutter Speed:1/1000

F-stop:F2.5

7.

Location: Stairs, Block A, Taylor's University Lakeside Campus

This photo is taken from bottom views. I accidentally found this angel when I'm helping my friend to collect leaves for his assignment nearby this area. I quite like this photo for the composition.

ISO:100

Shutter Speed:1/160

F-stop:F2.0

Thought: For me, this is the first time exploring minimalist photography, and I quite like this exercise which make me pay more attention to the surrounding. I guess I will still continue trying to take minimalist photo even after this exercise. And I noticed that black and white give more difficulty for this exercise as some minimalist photo with colour are nice but when I convert it into black and white it become not really nice , so for me it's quite challenging for black and white and the first round of the photo I took failed because it only look nice when it's in colour. FYI, I'm not only new to DSLR also Im not yet used to my new camera Canon77D so I'm not really used to the manual setting and also the body of the camera caused some of the photo are in wrong setting 😶 but I can start to tell which to adjust to avoid over exposure . So I'm quite happy with it 😊

So this is all for this exercise ❤️

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
SEARCH BY TAGS
FEATURED POSTS
INSTAGRAM
ARCHIVE

HUIyoooooooooo ARTsite

Not the best , but give the best that I can 

bottom of page