top of page

Final Major Monogram

And finally the last assignment for 2D!

For this assignment, it's divided to mainly 3 part

1. Design skill - Stenciling and Surface transfer

2. Design of Monogram - Exploration

2. Monogram - Finalise and Applying on 5 object

 

STENCILING AND SURFACE TRANSFER

For stenciling and surface transfer , I've used few medium and ways to create different work.

I've used Soft paster, Butterpaper, Tracing Paper, Linoprint Leftover pieces, Marker, Watercolour, Graphite, Tearing and etc. And I put a protection coat on all the pieces by using hairspray to ensure the medium won't fell out.

 

MONOGRAM - EXPLORATION

Black and White

Exploration of Monogram with Colour

 

BRAINSTORMING FOR 5 OBJECT TO BE CHOOSE

 

FINALISED MONOGRAM

 

APPLYING OF MONOGRAM ON 5 OBJECT

1st Object - My Final Black and White Book

This is the second book that I handmade (the first one is the Fantasy book for CTS assignment).

The reason why I choose this book but not CTS Fantasy book is because that Fantasy book are more complicated compare to this Black and White book, although it's fun but I did not feel that proud of myself compare to this book. I finally accomplish my childhood dream of making a creative book by my own after so many year.

Process of Making :

for this monogram I decided to use print making method . I originally wanted to use collograph method but unfortunately I'm out of time so I used wood cut method instead of collograph.

The only things is that .. It turn our become a mirror image of my monogram 🤣🤣🤣

but I still like it , it's special with its own way!💕

 

2nd Object - Spoon Collection

I choose to put my monogram on spoon as I really like to observe and collect spoon. That's not really much people know that I love spoon. I don't know since when but I just love how the spoon looks like , how it curve and how it's shape. It's just so unique!

For me, A meal will be more scrumptious with a nice curved or nice shaped spoon , it just work like that for me 🙈

1.The wood coffee spoon

Process of making:

I first trace the monogram by using graphite then I carve it by using carving tools

2.The Stainless steel spoon

Process of Making:

I used maskin tape to cover the area which I don't want to be spray, and then I cute out the monogram shape by using precise blade.It's really quite tough to control the maskin tape as it's not that sticky and it move easily. After every thing is done , I spray the black spray on it twice and then I remove the maskin tape after the spray is dry.

 

3rd Object - Poster (Things that I miss after I went study at KL)

I do this because I really miss Penang food so much and also I miss my friend in Penang I miss my previous college life .

 

4th Object - Mini Box

This box is a box which having my art work inspired by music. The Design on it is based on the artwork paint to music - In the Hall of Mountain King. The reason I chose this song and design is because at that moment when I'm producing the artwork of this song I suddenly don't hate classical music that much (I Used to hate classical music as I felt it's so boring and sleepy). That's the first time I feel that classical music can be that much of imagination, surprise and inspiration. It's a song which change my impression towards classical music.

And behind the box , I decided to wrote down the quote that I live with.

Once You're fearless , Life become Limitless .

I'm once so afraid to be a design student . I knew I love design and drawing since form 4 but due to fear to future living, I made a wrong mistake after graduated from high school . I've chosen A level as my path but then I realise I'm wrong, I'm not happy at all studying A Level. But this quote just inspired me, So I went home and asked my mom permission to quit A level and enroll to Design. It really took me a big big step to become who I'm today. I never expect myself who change to design with 0 basic could do all these assignment and I'm really glad myself for being fearless to choose what I really want.

Process of Making:

First , I used cellophone tape to stick out the space and then I used aluminium foil to transfer the acrylic to the box. ( I choose acrylic because acrylic dry really fast and the colour is dense enough).then after the acrylic dry , I remove the tape. For the two little drawer, I use colour apply on paper to test which colour to be and at last , I've chosen yellow as I feel it looks more cheerful with yellow which suit the quote behind the box.

 

5th Object - My Favourite Personal Photography

The reason I choose my favourite photography is because that I really like to take photo especially landscape and object or human. I'm also encouraging myself not to lose my passion for photography even I'm not a professional photographer. By putting a monogram on it bring much more meaning to me than it already was.

And I accidentally found that 3 of my favourite photography can actually link to each other at certain angle and perspective and this inspired me why not to put the logo at the connecting point of each photo?

When the photo is linked and complete , Monogram is completed at the same time . Which also inspired me that sometime 3 photo can form a new photo having it own speciality!

Process of Making:

I used maskin take to tape the connecting point and stabilise it.

 

THE END

BYE 2D DESIGN STUDIES

THANK YOU MR CHOY !

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
SEARCH BY TAGS
FEATURED POSTS
INSTAGRAM
ARCHIVE

HUIyoooooooooo ARTsite

Not the best , but give the best that I can 

bottom of page