top of page

Pattern & Design

For me , I like this assignment because it's a chance to let me think about what pattern I can make out and what combination are nice to be a new design. There's a lot of things inspired me to transform it into my own pattern design.

This assignment are divided into 3 part which is

1. Research Pattern

2. Pattern and Design

3. Final outcome

 

Part 1: RESEARCH PATTERN

For this part, I'm inspired by a lot of natural things and manmade building surrounding me.

Here is my research pattern. The first two pieces are graphite drawing, and I try to add in colour by using watercolour , colour pencil and also brush marker on the third and fourth pieces which make the design more attractive. The last pieces of pattern are some pieces that I found interesting from magazine , teared cardboard , artblock cover , pattern created by spray paint and also some leftover monoprint from printmaking class.

 

Part 2 : Pattern & Design

Our lecturer encouraged us to use the Scamper Method to carry out this part of our assignment. So I decided to follow the Scamper Method .

This piece consist of two piece of silhouettes , one is drawn on the paper and another one is the negative from the other paper. The negative silhouettes I make it by using tissue and watercolour. The background I decided to go simple with a bright contrast colour because I had filled the bottom of the pieces with design.

This pieces are combination of 2 silhouettes too , but with different style to bring out different meaning . The left side of the pieces show that a guy with black negative thought are spreading negativeness , the white hand represent people who are trying to help him to pull him out of the negative vibes but his negative thought caused people who trying to help can't approach him and even get affected shown by the white hand shape changed when the negative black print touched the white hand .While a strong contrast beside , The right side of the pieces show that a positive minded girl. Even the negative black surrounding want to strike her but she are not affected because she has strong will to resist the negative from surrounding and her positivity are going against the negative surrounding.

Different from the first two pieces, For this pieces I choose a simple black background and added 3 Silhouettes on it . As the 3 silhouettes are full of different colour , simple background are way more better to express the silhouettes . This pieces are to show that everyone are different in many ways but everyone are looking forward for the same goof future in life (shown by the direction of the silhouettes looking).

 

Part 3 : FINAL OUTCOME

This is my final outcome consisting 2 Silhouettes . The red orange silhouettes are actually me and the second silhouettes on top represent the tree of dream that grow in me. There is a little girl upside down with a pattern behind showing that she are stuck in there , fear of what that might come along her way to stop her from chasing dream caused her not to shine her own sunshine (which the sun pattern with no colour filled in) ,but one day the tree will grow big until she can touch it (the tree are growing to the little girl direction) and not being fear to chase her dream anymore and that's the time the day will rise.

 

EXTRA : Blind contour practice and Blind Cut of Silhouettes Practice

BLIND CONTOUR WITH CHARCOAL

BLIND CONTOUR WITH INK

BLIND CUT SILHOUETTES

 

THANK YOU 💕

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
SEARCH BY TAGS
FEATURED POSTS
INSTAGRAM
ARCHIVE

HUIyoooooooooo ARTsite

Not the best , but give the best that I can 

bottom of page